Tewksbury Lacrosse Team Earns First Ever Championship

The locals took out two unbeaten teams en route to a championship win.

Tewksbury Blue recently won the Patriot Cup. (Courtesy Photo)
Tewksbury Blue recently won the Patriot Cup. (Courtesy Photo)
A Tewksbury lacrosse team recently did something its never done before, taking home the first Patriot Cup championship in program history.

The Tewksbury Blue U15 lacrosse team was second to none in Patriot Youth Lacrosse, earning a recent 9-7 championship win over Lowell to earn the crown.

The tournament day began when Tewksbury Blue took on undefeated Lowell, earning a 7-6 win.

After 10 minutes to rest before its next game, Tewksbury took on unbeaten Groton Maroon. The game was tied going into the final 1:30 of regulation, when Blue was called for a penalty. The team's defense held, however, fighting off the power play attempt and forcing overtime.

With its second possession of the extra frame, Tewksbury found the back of the net and snagged the 6-5 victory.

In the championship game, Tewksbury again faced off against Lowell, taking an early lead and hanging on for a 9-7 title win.

Team members are Connor Brincklow, Brendan Sjostedt, Kevin Carta, Shane Darrigo, Jonny Spinelli, Joe White, Barrett Hodgson, Ben Connor, Chris Lucas, Mike Arsenault, Trace Trant, Pat Hunt, Justin Petti, Jamesie Cash, Dylan Malenson, Josh Sughrue, Logan Singleton, Fran Pino, Jared Gillis, Chris Abele, Robert Casey, Ryan Bennett, Jake Garland and Stephen Duquette.

Tewksbury Blue was led by head coach Scott Garland along with assistant coaches Mark Duquette and Rob Lucas.
Michael Iannacci June 18, 2014 at 10:09 AM
Nice job guys! Congratulations!!!


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »